Senators Collins, King Join Bipartisan Effort to Reject Proposed Elimination of Funding for National Sea Grant Program

In Maine, the National Sea Grant College Program is a critical source of funding for the University of Maine’s marine and coastal research, education, and outreach.

Washington, D.C. — U.S. Senators Susan Collins (R-ME) and Angus King (I-ME) joined a bipartisan group of 27 Senators in sending a letter urging the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies to continue to fund the National Sea Grant College Program – at a minimum – at its current funding level of $80 million.  The letter follows the Administration’s proposed elimination of funding for the Sea Grant Program in the fiscal year (FY) 2020 budget.


“We urge you to reject the administration’s proposed elimination of the National Sea Grant College program,” the Senators wrote. “As senators from some of the states with Sea Grant programs, we see firsthand how this federal investment is leveraged locally to bring immense returns to coastal communities, fishermen, universities, and students. Any cuts to this funding would have a devastating impact and we strongly urge you to reject any proposals to reduce this program.”


 Designated as a Sea Grant College, the University of Maine is one of 33 NOAA Sea Grant programs throughout the coastal and Great Lakes states. The University of Maine chapter focuses on sustainable use and stewardship of marine and coastal resources. Sea Grant receives funding from the U.S. Department of Commerce via the NOAA National Sea Grant Office, to support its mission through research, outreach, and education.


In addition to Senators Collins and King, the letter was signed by Senators Chris Murphy (D-CT), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calf.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), and Kamala Harris (D-Calif.).


Click HERE for the full text of the letter.