Senators Collins, King Congratulate Kennebunk Educator on Receiving Prestigious Award for Leadership

Washington, D.C. — U.S. Senators Susan Collins and Angus King congratulated Sea Road School Principal Stephen D. Marquis, Ph.D., of Kennebunk on being named a 2016 recipient of the Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership. Dr. Marquis is one of only eight principals across the country who will receive the award at a ceremony on November 7, 2016.

“The Bell Award is one of the most prestigious recognitions principals can receive, and we are so proud of Dr. Marquis for earning this distinction,” said Senators Collins and King in a joint statement. “This award reflects Dr. Marquis’ commitment to Sea Road School as well as his desire to continually inspire and challenge students and support families.”

Named for the second U. S. Secretary of Education, the Terrel H. Bell Award honors school leaders who are committed to education as a powerful and liberating force in people’s lives. The award is part of the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program. Principals are nominated by their school communities during the final stages of the National Blue Ribbon Schools application process.

Last month, Senators Collins and King congratulated Sea Road School on being named a National Blue Ribbon School, one of three Maine schools to receive this distinction.