Senators Collins, King Announce Two Mainers Have Been Named to Fill Key USDA Posts Dedicated to Assisting Maine

Washington, D.C. — U.S. Senators Susan Collins (R-ME) and Angus King (I-ME) announced that President Donald Trump has named two Mainers to fill key positions in the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) responsible for serving the State of Maine.  Tim Hobbs has been named Maine State Director of USDA Rural Development, and Dave Lavway has been named Maine State Executive Director of the USDA Farm Service Agency.


“Tim and Dave have a long history serving the agricultural community in Maine and come with a wealth of knowledge about the USDA programs they are tapped to lead,” said Senators Collins and King in a joint statement.  “With that understanding and experience, they will be exceptional leaders of these USDA programs that are instrumental in assisting rural areas with economic development and supporting agricultural needs across our state. We look forward to working with Tim and Dave as they assume their new roles serving Mainers.”


Mr. Hobbs has served as the Director of Development and Grower Relations for the Maine Potato Board for the past 15 years.  Prior to his service on the Maine Potato Board, Mr. Hobbs worked for five years as the Executive Director of the Central Aroostook Soil and Water Conservation District.


Mr. Lavway was most recently the Deputy Commissioner of Operations of the Maine Department of Administrative and Financial Services.  He previously served as the Maine State Executive Director of the USDA Farm Service Agency from 2001 until 2009 and is also the former Executive Director of the Maine Potato Board.