Senators Collins And King Congratulate Maine Recipients Of The Presidential Award For Excellence In Mathematics And Science Teaching

     Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senators Susan Collins and Angus King today congratulated Lisa McLellan and William O'Brien for recently receiving the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). McLellan, a teacher at Windham High School in Windham, and O’Brien, a teacher at Camden Hills Regional High School in Camden, will each receive an award signed by President Obama and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.

      “America’s teachers are among our most dedicated public servants.  Here in Maine, and throughout the country, our teachers take on the challenge of educating our young people and helping them realize their full potential,” the Senators said in a joint statement. “We congratulate Lisa and William on being recognized as two of the best in the nation.”

      The PAEMST program, administered by the National Science Foundation on behalf of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, recognizes outstanding teachers for their contributions to the teaching and learning of mathematics and science. Awardees will travel to Washington, D.C., for an awards ceremony later this year.