Skip to content

Senator Collins Visits Aroostook Agency on Aging

Aroostook Agency on Aging

Click HERE for a high-resolution photo


Presque Isle, ME – U.S. Senator Susan Collins visited Aroostook Agency on Aging (AAA) yesterday to tour the facility and meet with members of the community who are enrolled in AAA programs.  Senator Collins also spoke with staff members about an AAA project she is supporting, the Aroostook Access Points for Aging, which would expand services for seniors in The County.


“Maine is fortunate to have a strong sense of caring and community, and that certainly describes the many volunteers and staff at Aroostook Agency on Aging,” said Senator Collins.  “The programs they provide promote health and preventive care, increase independence, and alleviate social isolation.  I am working to secure funding that would help AAA expand its programs to more rural communities and reach hundreds more seniors in Northern Maine.”


As a senior member of the Appropriations Committee, Senator Collins is working to secure $862,000 for AAA’s Access Points for Aging.  This project will build and strengthen Aroostook County’s aging network by bringing exercise programs like Falls Prevention-Matter of Balance and educational programs like Living Well with Chronic Pain to more seniors in Northern Maine.  Access points can be a physical location or technology platform providing localized connections to services, consultation and meeting space, recreation, and enrichment.  Funds will be used to support program expansion and equipment and technology purchases, such as videoconferencing, at local access points. AAA expects to serve 15 to 30 additional individuals per month per site (up to 600 people per month).  In addition, the sites can be used to access online programs and could also be used by other community partners.


Access Points will be located in Fort Kent, Madawaska, Van Buren, Caribou, Ashland, Presque Isle, Houlton, Danforth, Island Falls, Eagle Lake, Frenchville, Washburn, Easton, Limestone, Mars Hill, Littleton, Hodgdon, Sherman, Mi’kmaq Nation, and Houlton Band of Maliseets.