Senator Collins Receives Jeane J. Kirkpatrick Statesmanship Award

Washington, D.C.—U.S. Senator Susan Collins received the Jeane J. Kirkpatrick Statesmanship Award from the Foundation for Defense of Democracies (FDD), a non-profit, non-partisan organization that seeks to promote pluralism, defend democratic values, and fight terrorism.

Senator Collins expressed her appreciation for the FDD’s work to advance the public’s and policymakers’ understanding of vital foreign policy issues.  She also noted her admiration for Jeane Kirkpatrick, who was a professor and the first American woman to serve as a United Nations ambassador.

“Receiving an award named in honor of Ambassador Jeane Kirkpatrick is especially meaningful,” said Senator Collins. “The first woman to represent America at the United Nations, Ambassador Kirkpatrick was always a steadfast defender of American values.”

At the award presentation ceremony, Mark Dubowitz, the Executive Director of the FDD, commended Senator Collins’ efforts to build bipartisan coalitions in support of national security issues.  Senator Collins was the first Chairman of the Homeland Security and Government Affairs Committee and has led numerous reforms of the U.S. intelligence community, including the law to better protect our nation against terrorist attacks in the wake of 9/11.