Senator Collins Joins Bipartisan Group in Urging HHS and CMS to Expand Efforts to Support Home Infusion Therapy Amid COVID-19

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senator Susan Collins joined a bipartisan group of Senators in sending a letter to Department of Health and Human Services Secretary Alex Azar and Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Administrator Seema Verma, encouraging them to consider solutions to protect Medicare beneficiaries from high-risk settings and ensure safe access to infused and injectable medications as the U.S. continues to work to combat COVID-19.


“As we seek additional options for protecting the lives of those most negatively affected by the pandemic, we are writing to encourage you to continue engaging with our offices and relevant stakeholders to build upon these productive steps through effective implementation, along with additional policy levers, as needed, in order to ensure that Medicare beneficiaries can access physician-administered Part B-covered infused and injectable medicines in the home setting during the COVID-19 public health emergency,” the Senators wrote.


The Senators continued, “We ask that, as you engage with patient advocates, providers, and other stakeholders, you seek out opportunities to further close remaining gaps and, as much as possible, pursue solutions that provide for continuity and consistency in care. These solutions must ensure beneficiary access to Part B drugs, provide appropriate payment for these drugs, and sufficiently reimburse for administration services rendered when provided in the home setting.”


In addition to Senator Collins, the letter was signed by Senators Mark Warner (D-VA), Tim Scott (R-SC), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Tom Carper (D-DE), Pat Roberts (R-KS), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Mike Enzi (R-WY), Bob Casey (D-PA), John Cornyn (R-TX), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), John Thune (R-SD), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Richard Burr (R-NC), Chris Coons (D-DE), Rob Portman (R-OH), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ), James Lankford (R-OK), Jon Tester (D-MT), Steve Daines (R-MT), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Kelly Loeffler (R-GA), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Joni Ernst (R-IA), and Cory Gardner (R-CO).


Click HERE to read the full letter.