Skip to content

Senator Collins Joins All Female Senators in Effort to Celebrate 100th Anniversary of 19th Amendment

Washington, D.C. — U.S. Senator Susan Collins, and all of her female Senate colleagues, introduced a resolution to celebrate a historic milestone, the 100th anniversary of the passage and ratification of the 19th Amendment, providing for women’s suffrage, to the Constitution of the United States. The resolution seeks to honor, reaffirm, and preserve the ratification of the 19th Amendment in further promoting the core values of our democracy as promised by the U.S. Constitution. 


The House of Representatives is voting on a companion resolution today, the 100th anniversary of that chamber’s approval of the 19th Amendment.  The Senate will vote on the resolution on June 4, 2019, to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the amendment’s passage in the upper chamber.


“Women across the country made countless sacrifices and worked tirelessly to ratify the 19th Amendment,” said Senator Collins.  “Though there is more work to be done, this resolution recognizes the brave women who fought for equal voting rights and commemorates this moment for generations to come.”


Click here for full text of the resolution.


Resolution excerpts:


  • Whereas Congress passed the 19th Amendment to the Constitution of the United States, guided by the shared ideals of freedom, sovereignty, democracy, civil liberties, and individual rights.


  • Whereas the introduction, passage, and ultimate ratification of the 19th Amendment were the culmination of decades of work and struggle by advocates for the rights of women across the United States and worldwide.


  • Whereas the ratification of the 19th Amendment ensured women could more fully participate in our democracy and fundamentally changed the role of women in the civic life of our Nation.


  • Now, therefore, be it resolved that the Senate celebrates the reaffirms the desire of Congress to continue strengthening democratic participation and to inspire future generations to cherish and preserve the historic precedent established under the 19th Amendment.


In addition to Senator Collins, the resolution is cosponsored by Senators Murkowski (R-AK), Baldwin (D-WI), Feinstein (D-CA), Shaheen (D-NH), Capito (R-WV), Blackburn (R-TN), Warren (D-MA), Ernst (R-IA), Fischer (R-NE), Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Hirono (D-HI), Murray (D-WA), Cantwell (D-WA), Klobuchar (D-MN), Harris (D-CA), McSally (R-AZ), Stabenow (D-MI), Rosen (D-NV), Cortez Masto (D-NV), Smith (D-MN), Gillibrand (D-NY), Hassan (D-NH), Duckworth (D-IL), Sinema (D-AZ).