Senator Collins Congratulates Yarmouth High School on Blue Ribbon Designation

Click HERE for a high-resolution photo


Washington, D.C. — U.S. Senator Susan Collins met with Yarmouth High School Principal Eric Klein and guidance counselors Brenda Michaelsen and Beth Doane in her Washington, D.C., office.  They were in D.C. for a Department of Education awards ceremony where Yarmouth High School was recognized as a 2019 National Blue Ribbon School. Yarmouth High School is one of only three Maine schools—and one of only 362 public and private schools nationwide—to be recognized for this highly prestigious achievement in 2019.


“The Blue Ribbon designation is the highest honor an American school can obtain, and out of this year’s 362 honorees, three are from Maine.  Yarmouth High School earned this designation through a deep commitment to excellence by both the faculty and the community as a whole,” said Senator Collins. “During my meeting with Eric, Brenda, and Beth, I presented them with a statement I entered in the Congressional Record recognizing the school’s success.”


For 35 years, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has honored public and private elementary, middle, and high schools. Blue Ribbon schools are recognized for overall academic excellence or for making notable improvements in closing the achievement gap.