Skip to content

Senate Unanimously Passes Collins-Shaheen Resolution Posthumously Honoring Queen Elizabeth II

Senators Collins and Shaheen and Prince Charles

Click HERE for a photo of Sens. Collins and Shaheen meeting King Charles III in 2015 when the then-Prince of Wales visited with members of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee.


Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senators Susan Collins (R-ME) and Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) issued the following joint statement after the U.S. Senate unanimously passed their resolution last night honoring Her Royal Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. The resolution, which the Senators introduced earlier this week, pays tribute to the Queen’s historic legacy and her 70 year reign, expresses condolences to her family and citizens of the United Kingdom and the Commonwealth and reaffirms U.S. commitment to its close alliance with the United Kingdom.


“The Senate’s unanimous approval of our bipartisan resolution honoring Her Royal Majesty Queen Elizabeth II is a testament to the impact she had not only in the United Kingdom, but on the global community. Her leadership in the United Kingdom affected the trajectory of world history, and particularly during some of the most precarious times for the U.S.,” said Senators Collins and Shaheen. “As her family and U.K. citizens remember her life and legacy, the United States joins the international community in expressing our condolences and honoring her contributions that shaped the world we live in.”


The resolution can be read in full here.


The resolution was cosponsored by Senate Majority Leader Schumer (D-NY), Senate Minority Leader McConnell (R-KY) and U.S. Senators Durbin (D-IL), Warner (D-VA), Van Hollen (D-MD), Cornyn (R-TX), Murray (D-WA), Coons (D-DE), Hagerty (R-TN), Leahy (D-VT), Padilla (D-CA), Feinstein (D-CA), Warnock (D-GA), Menendez (D-NJ), Risch (R-ID), Stabenow (D-MI), Lujan (D-NM), Rubio (R-FL), Hickenlooper (D-CO), Cardin (D-MD), Baldwin (D-WI), Cortez Masto (D-NV), Hassan (D-NH), Capito (R-WV), Fischer (R-NE), Heinrich (D-NM), Booker (D-NJ), Murphy (D-CT), Kaine (D-VA), Klobuchar (D-MN), Blumenthal (D-CT), Smith (D-MN), Bennet (D-CO), Moran (R-KS), Reed (D-RI), Merkley (D-OR), Cassidy (R-LA), Marshall (R-KS), Graham (R-SC), Shelby (R-AL), Blunt (R-MO), Crapo (R-ID), Portman (R-OH), Hawley (R-MO), Wicker (R-MS) Blackburn (R-TN), Johnson (R-WI), Cramer (R-ND), Young (R-IN), Murkowski (R-AK), Toomey (R-PA), Boozman (R-AR), Tillis (R-NC), Carper (D-DE), King (I-ME), Duckworth (D-IL), Scott (R-FL), Peters (D-MI), Manchin (D-WV), Gillibrand (D-NY), Burr (R-NC), Lummis (R-WY), Romney (R-UT), Daines (R-MT), Ossoff (D-GA), Kelly (D-AZ) and Lankford (R-OK).