Skip to content

Collins, King Congratulate Three Maine Schools Recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Susan Collins and Angus King applauded Dr. Levesque Elementary School in Frenchville, Falmouth High School, and Yarmouth Elementary School for being recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as 2018 National Blue Ribbon Schools. These Maine schools are three of only 349 public and private schools across the nation being recognized for this achievement in 2018.


“The Blue Ribbon designation is a testament to the vital work educators across the state of Maine commit to every day. This is a highly prestigious honor, and it’s clear that these three schools have done a great deal to help build a brighter future for the children of Maine,” said Senators Collins and King in a joint statement. “We’re thankful for the teachers and administrators who have built strong school environments, and for the families and students who have kept the focus on learning in and out of the classroom. We are proud to have these schools representing Maine as 2018 Blue Ribbon schools, and we congratulate them for earning this honor.”


Throughout its 36 year history, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has affirmed the hard work of students, educators, families, and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging content.  The award flag gracing a school’s building has been widely recognized by everyone – from parents to policymakers –as a symbol of exemplary teaching and learning.  


Representatives from Dr. Levesque Elementary School, Falmouth High School, and Yarmouth Elementary School are invited to Washington, D.C., for an awards ceremony in November. At the ceremony, each Blue Ribbon school will be presented with an award plaque and a flag.

Related Issues