Skip to content

Collins, Feinstein Lead All 24 Women U.S. Senators in Introducing Resolution Designating March as Women’s History Month

Washington, D.C. U.S. Senators Susan Collins (R-Maine) and Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) led a group of 40 Senators—including all 24 women Senators—in introducing a resolution designating March 2021 as “National Women’s History Month.”  The resolution is also co-sponsored by Senator Angus King (I-Maine).


“Last year, we celebrated the 100th anniversary of American women’s suffrage and finally passed legislation to establish a Smithsonian American Women’s History Museum in our nation’s capital,” said Senator Collins. “This resolution recognizes the significant accomplishments of American women and serves as a reminder to future generations of women that they can achieve anything they set their minds to.”


“I’m happy to again introduce this resolution recognizing the integral role women have played, and continue to play, in the development of our country,” Senator Feinstein said. “It’s amazing to see how far we’ve come. When I first joined the Senate, there were only two of us. Today, women make up a quarter of the Senate, and this year we finally swore in the first female vice president. This progress has been tremendous, but we can’t stop until we achieve full equality.”


In December, bipartisan legislation authored by Senators Collins and Feinstein to establish a Smithsonian American Women’s History Museum in Washington, D.C. was signed into law.


Led by Senators Collins and Feinstein and co-sponsored by Senator King, the resolution is also co-sponsored by Senators Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Edward J. Markey (D-Mass.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Mark R. Warner (D-Va.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Mazie K. Hirono (D-Hawaii), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Tom Carper (D-Del.) and Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.).


Click HERE to read the full-text of the resolution.