Skip to content

Collins, Brown Lead Bipartisan Resolution to Honor our Nation’s Teachers

National Teacher Appreciation Week is May 6-10, 2024

Washington, D.C. – To honor our nation’s teachers and commemorate National Teacher Appreciation Week, U.S. Senators Susan Collins and Sherrod Brown (D-OH) led a bipartisan resolution to recognize the important work of teachers across the nation and thank them for their efforts to prepare students for success. Senator Angus King is a cosponsor of the resolution.

“America’s teachers play a crucial role in nurturing young minds, providing our students with the educational foundation to become future leaders,” said Senator Collins. “I was proud to lead this bipartisan resolution with Senator Brown to honor the tireless efforts of teachers in Maine and across the country.”

“Teachers have always answered the call to serve, going above and beyond to ensure our students have a foundation of skills and tools that will last a lifetime,” said Senator Brown. “Ohio students depend on dedicated teachers and educators, who constantly find unique ways to support and stay connected with their students. We must continue to honor the work of our education staff through policy that supports teachers and allows them to do their jobs preparing our students to succeed.”

The resolution is also co-sponsored by Senators Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Tom Carper (D-DE), Gary Peters (D-MI), Jack Reed (D-RI), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Bob Casey (D-PA), Peter Welch (D-VT), John Hickenlooper (D-CO), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Laphonza Butler (D-CA), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), and Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Shelley Capito (R-WV), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Tina Smith (D-MN), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Cory Booker (D-NJ), and Marco Rubio (R-FL).

The complete text of the resolution can be read here.


Related Issues