Collins, Brown Lead Bipartisan Resolution To Honor Our Nation’s Teachers

May 3-7, is National Teacher Appreciation Week

WASHINGTON, D.C. – To honor our nation's teachers and commemorate National Teacher Appreciation Week (May 3-7), U.S. Senators Susan Collins (R-ME) and Sherrod Brown (D-OH) led a bipartisan resolution to recognize the important work of teachers across the nation, thank them for their efforts to prepare students for success, and acknowledge the additional role teachers have played in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.  The resolution was co-sponsored by Senator Angus King (I-ME).


“As a Senator, I have visited more than 200 schools throughout Maine,” said Senator Collins. “In communities large or small, urban or rural, the school is the town’s pride and joy.  It is the dedicated and caring educators who make it so.  This resolution honors the indefatigable efforts of our teachers and expresses our gratitude for all that they do to prepare our children for success, particularly during this pandemic.”


“Teachers have always answered the call to serve, going above and beyond to ensure our students have a foundation of skills and tools that will last a lifetime,” said Senator Brown. “During this crisis, while coordinating distance and in-person learning – often times simultaneously – teachers and educators have found unique ways to support and stay connected with their students. We must continue to honor our education staff through policy that supports teachers in their efforts to develop the next generation of leaders.”


In addition to Senators Collins, Brown, and King, the resolution was co-sponsored by Senators Tim Kaine (D-VA), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Corey Booker (D-NJ), Bob Casey (D-PA), Tina Smith (D-MN), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Gary Peters (D-MI), Mike Braun (R-IN), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), John Hoeven (R-ND), Alex Padilla (D-CA), John Boozman (R-AR), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Todd Young (R-IN), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Tom Carper (D-DE).


A copy of the resolution can be read here.