In Wake of Strong Winds and Heavy Rainfall in Maine this Week, Senator Collins Speaks with CMP President, Sara Burns

Washington, D.C. -U.S. Senator Susan Collins spoke with Sara Burns, President and Chief Executive Officer of Central Maine Power (CMP), about the recent, serious storm in Maine that caused severe flooding and left nearly 500,000 people without power throughout the state. Senator Collins, the Chairman of the Aging Committee, also expressed her concerns about the risks that older individuals face during extended power outages. 

“I spoke with Sara Burns, CMP’s president, about power restoration efforts, and I am receiving regular updates from the Maine Emergency Management Agency (MEMA). I am confident that both CMP and Emera Energy are working hard to reduce the numbers of folks without power as quickly as possible. Maine line workers are receiving assistance from linemen from Canada, Kentucky, and Illinois,” said Senator Collins.  “I applaud the team effort to deal with the strong winds and rain that left more than 480,000 without power. That’s more than those of us who lost power in the Ice Storm of 1998.  I especially urge all Mainers to check on their elderly neighbors who are at particular risk during extended power outages.”


As Chairman of the Senate Aging Committee, Senator Collins has advocated for emergency preparedness and response efforts to address the needs of older Americans before, during, and after catastrophes such as a natural disaster. In September, Senator Collins led a hearing titled, “Disaster Preparedness and Response: The Special Needs of Older Americans,” which examined policies and procedures for sheltering in place, evacuating, and relocating our most vulnerable citizens due to a disaster.  Senator Collins also introduced bipartisan legislation to create a national advisory committee to look for ways to better prepare and care for our older Americans during a disaster.


Sara Burns joined CMP as Manager of Risk Management in 1987, and after serving in various executive positions, she was named President in 1998 and CEO in 2005.