Senators Collins, King Cosponsor Bipartisan Resolution Recognizing 9/11 as National Day of Service and Remembrance

Washington, D.C. — U.S. Senators Susan Collins and Angus King cosponsored a bipartisan and bicameral resolution that recognizes September 11 as a national day of service and encourages the American public to engage in a charitable service of their choosing on or around 9/11.


“Nineteen years have passed, but the memory of September 11, 2001, remains as vivid as if it were yesterday. On this solemn anniversary, we join all Americans in remembering each of the nearly 3,000 lives lost that day – lives of accomplishment, contribution, and promise,” said Senators Collins and King in a joint statement.  “In tribute to the individuals who lost their lives and to those who came to the aid of those in need during the devastating attacks, this resolution observes September 11 as a ‘National Day of Service and Remembrance,’ encouraging Americans to personally reflect and perform an act of service to commemorate this powerful day.”


“Americans in every corner of our country are committed to the promise to ‘Never Forget’ the attacks on our nation 19 years ago and, most important, the loss of life and injury to countless of our family members, friends and colleagues,” said Jay S. Winuk, whose younger brother Glenn J. Winuk, an attorney and volunteer firefighter/EMT, died in the line of duty when the South Tower collapsed.  Winuk is the co-founder of 9/11 Day, the nation’s largest annual day of charitable engagement.  “This resolution rightly and powerfully honors those directly affected by the events of 9/11 and calls on the nation to come together in tribute and service to strengthen our bonds as Americans, especially meaningful in these challenging times.”


In 2009 following calls by families of those killed in the attacks of September 11, 2001, Congress established that date as a National Day of Service and Remembrance in tribute to the 9/11 victims, first responders, recovery workers, volunteers, and members of the U.S. military who rose in service in defense of our nation.  This year, Senators Collins and King joined their colleagues in the Senate and House of Representatives to reaffirm that commitment and honor the heroes who rose to service in response to attacks in New York City, outside Washington, D.C. in northern Virginia, and near Shanksville, Pennsylvania.


In the Senate, the resolution was also cosponsored by Senators Chris Coons (D-Del.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Doug Jones (D-Ala.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.V.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Jackie Rosen (D-Nev.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), and Patty Murray (D-Wash.).


In the House, the resolution was also cosponsored by U.S. Representatives David Price (D-N.C.), Doris Matsui (D-Calif.), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-D.C.), Ed Case (D-Hawaii), Jimmy Panetta (D-Calif.), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-Pa.), Michael San Nicolas (D-Guam), David Joyce (R-Ohio), Mary Gay Scanlon (D-Pa.), Brian Higgins (D-N.Y.), Gil Cisneros (D-Calif.) Greg Steube (R-Fla.), Tulsi Gabbard (D-Hawaii), Seth Moulton (D-Mass.), Chrissy Houlahan (D-Pa.), Michael Waltz (R-Fla.), Tom Cole (R-Okla.), Don Bacon (R-Neb.), Frederica Wilson (D-Fla.), Hank Johnson (D-Ga.), Jennifer Wexton (D-Va.), and Kathy Castor (D-Fla.).


Click HERE to read the full resolution.