Skip to content

Senator Collins Honored with U.S. Chamber of Commerce’s Bipartisanship Award

Click HERE to watch video from the awards ceremony


Washington, D.C.—The U.S. Chamber of Commerce honored U.S. Senator Susan Collins (R-ME) with the inaugural Jefferson – Hamilton Award for Bipartisanship, which recognizes members of Congress who demonstrate the bipartisan leadership and constructive governing necessary to move our country forward. 


Senators Collins and Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ) both received a perfect score, the only two members of the Senate to do so. 


“I appreciate the U.S. Chamber of Commerce working to promote bipartisanship and foster dialogue on ways we can grow our economy and create good-paying jobs,” said Senator Collins.  “I have long believed that Congress produces the best legislation when it incorporates the ideas of both Republicans and Democrats.  Despite our increasingly polarized environment, Congress has shown it is capable of coming together to deliver results for the American people, whether it is the Paycheck Protection Program I co-authored or the multiple COVID-19 packages we have passed to address the current public health and economic crisis.”


“The Maine Chamber congratulates Senator Collins on earning the distinction of being the most bipartisan Republican Senator,” said Dana Connors, President of the Maine State Chamber of Commerce.  “In this era of increasing polarization, it is more important than ever for leaders to reach across the aisle to help our economy and American families.  Senator Collins has a proven record of bipartisan accomplishments like the Paycheck Protection Program that have been a lifeline for small businesses and have supported job creation.”


“Now more than ever, our nation needs elected leaders with the courage to pursue common ground and bold, bipartisan solutions to America’s greatest challenges,” said U.S. Chamber of Commerce President Suzanne Clark.  “These awards honor the deserving members of Congress that are forging common-sense sense solutions, working across the aisle, to enact lasting and meaningful reforms. In the days ahead, Congress must work together and support our nation's free enterprise principles that will help bring our economy back to strength and put our people back to work.”


In addition to Senators Collins and Sinema, two members of the House of Representatives received the Jefferson – Hamilton Award for Bipartisanship: Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA-1), and Rep. Joshua Gottheimer (D-NJ-5) .



The Jefferson–Hamilton Award for Bipartisanship


America’s elected leaders should be men and women of conviction and principle who are also able to find common ground with those with whom they disagree. Since the days of Jefferson and Hamilton, America has benefitted from leaders who found ways to work together despite their differences. The Jefferson-Hamilton Award for Bipartisanship recognizes those members of Congress who in their actions have demonstrated a willingness to work across the aisle in support of common objectives.


The bipartisanship score is based on the number of bills — except those formally opposed by the Chamber — a Member cosponsors introduced by a Member of the opposite party and is calculated on a ranking relative to a Member’s performance compared to members of their own party.  Click HERE to read more.


About the Chamber


The U.S. Chamber of Commerce is the world’s largest business federation representing the interests of more than 3 million businesses of all sizes, sectors, and regions, as well as state and local chambers and industry associations.