Skip to content

Senate Passes Resolution Co-Sponsored by Collins, King in Show of Bipartisan Support for Ukraine Against Russian Aggression

Washington, D.C. – Last night, the U.S. Senate voted overwhelmingly to pass a bipartisan resolution co-sponsored by U.S. Senators Susan Collins (R-ME) and Angus King (I-ME) in support of Ukraine in the face of increased Russian hostility.


The Senators’ resolution is a renewed bipartisan message from the U.S. Senate in firm support of the United States’ Ukrainian partners in response to President Putin’s intensifying aggression. 


“The escalating Russian military and cybersecurity threat to Ukraine is unacceptable and risks destabilizing the entire region,” said Senator Collins. “It is critical that we send a unified message from the United States and our allies to deter Russia from further violating Ukraine’s sovereignty.  The passage of this resolution on an overwhelming, bipartisan basis demonstrates Congress’ continued willingness to provide Ukraine with the resources it needs to defend itself, and it signals our resolve to impose punishing economic sanctions on Russia in the event of any further invasion.”


“As Russia continues to ramp up aggressions in Eastern Europe, Vladimir Putin’s goal is clear – to undercut democracy worldwide and begin reconstituting the Soviet Union,” said Senator King. “Despite the hopes of the Russian President, this escalation has only strengthened the resolve of United States and our NATO allies. The Senate’s bipartisan resolution reinforces this united resolve and sends a clear message that while we will continue to seek diplomatic solutions, we will not be intimidated. I hope Putin will hear this message and back down from his increasing efforts to undermine Ukrainian sovereignty.”


Senators Collins and King, members of the Senate Intelligence Committee, recently participated in a virtual conversation on the escalating threat posed by Russia in Eastern Europe with Ambassadors from Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, and Poland.  During the discussion, the Senators and seven colleagues stressed the importance of the NATO alliance, their support for Ukraine’s sovereignty, and their bipartisan commitment to countering Russian aggression in the region.


The resolution was introduced by Senators Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) and Rob Portman (R-OH).  In addition to Senators Collins and King, it was co-sponsored by Senators Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Jim Risch (R-ID), Dick Durbin (D-IL), John Cornyn (R-TX), Chris Coons (D-DE), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Tom Carper (D-DE), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Raphael Warnock (D-GA), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), John Hickenlooper (D-CO), Richard Burr (R-NC), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), John Hoeven (R-ND), Patty Murray (D-WA), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Tim Scott (R-SC), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Rick Scott (R-FL), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), John Barrasso (R-WY), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), John Kennedy (R-LA), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Dan Sullivan (R-AK).


Text of the resolution is available here.