Leaders of Maine Community Banks Meet with Senator Collins

Click HERE for a high-resolution photo of Senator Collins with Members of Maine Bankers Association

Washington, D.C. - U.S. Senator Susan Collins met with Chris Pinkham, the President of the Maine Bankers Association, as well as 10 other members of the Association, to discuss banking legislation and tax reform.

“Community banks play an essential role in meeting the credit needs of their customers, particularly small businesses, homeowners, and farmers,” said Senator Collins. “I had a productive discussion with the members of the Maine Bankers Association on ways we can work together to improve our state’s banking system and ensure that they can continue to serve their communities.”

Earlier this year, Senator Collins introduced the Community Bank Sensible Regulation Act, which would allow financial regulators to exempt small community banks from unnecessary and burdensome requirements. Her bill would protect small financial institutions from highly complex regulations that are intended for larger banks whose failure would risk the collapse of the financial system.

The Maine Bankers Association has served Maine’s banking industry since 1893 and represents all 31 of Maine’s retail banks. The banking industry has 26 Maine headquartered banks and five banks with headquarters out of state.

Members of the Maine Bankers Association that attended included:

  • Andrew Silsby, Kennebec Savings Bank
  • Peter Judkins, Franklin Savings Bank
  • Matt Nightingale, Katahdin Trust Co.
  • Julia DeBery, Bath Savings Institution
  • Dan Walsh, Norway Savings Bank
  • Blaine Boudreau, SIS Bank
  • Ann Marie Swenson, Peoples United Bank
  • Lynn Howe, Kennebec Savings Bank
  • Lex Meagher, Kennebunk Savings Bank
  • Kathy Keneborus, Maine Bankers Association
  • Chris Pinkham, President, Maine Bankers Association