Skip to content

Collins, King Join Bipartisan Group in Introducing National Law Enforcement Museum Commemorative Coin Act

Washington, D.C. — U.S. Senators Susan Collins (R-ME) and Angus King (I-ME) joined a bipartisan group in introducing the National Law Enforcement Museum Commemorative Coin Act, legislation that would authorize the Treasury Department to mint coins in honor of the opening of the National Law Enforcement Museum.  The museum is dedicated to highlighting and honoring past, present, and future law enforcement officers.


“In Maine and throughout the country, the dedicated men and women of our nation’s law enforcement community work hard every day to keep our communities safe,” said Senators Collins and King in a joint statement.  “We are proud to join our colleagues in introducing this bipartisan bill, which would authorize coins to be minted in honor of the National Law Enforcement Museum.”


The coin comes at no cost to taxpayers, and the Treasury Department will be reimbursed for the costs of issuing the coins.  Proceeds from the coin will support the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund’s educational and outreach programs.


The museum opened last year and is located in Washington, D.C.


The bill is supported by many of the nation’s top law enforcement advocacy groups, including the Concerns of Police Survivors, the Federal Law Enforcement Officers Association, the Fraternal Order of Police, the Fraternal Order of Police Auxiliary, the International Association of Chiefs of Police, the International Brotherhood of Police Officers, the International Union of Police Associations, the National Association of Police Organizations, the National Black Police Association, the National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives, the National Sheriffs' Association, the National Troopers Coalition, the Police Executive Research Forum, the Police Foundation, the Police Unity Tour, and the United Federation of Police Officers.


In addition to Senators Collins and King, original cosponsors include Senators Roy Blunt (Mo.), Chris Coons (Del.), Tammy Baldwin (Wis.), John Boozman (Ark.), Shelley Moore Capito (W. Va.), Ben Cardin (Md.), Bob Casey (Pa.), Bill Cassidy (La.), John Cornyn (Texas), Catherine Cortez Masto (Nev.), Kevin Cramer (N.D.), Mike Crapo (Idaho), Tammy Duckworth (Ill.), Joni Ernst (Iowa), Deb Fischer (Neb.), Cory Gardner (Colo.), John Kennedy (La.), Amy Klobuchar (Minn.), Maggie Hassan (N.H.), Josh Hawley (Mo.), John Hoeven (N.D.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (Miss.), Jim Inhofe (Okla.), Johnny Isakson (Ga.), Doug Jones (Ala.), Patrick Leahy (Vt.), Jerry Moran (Kan.), Lisa Murkowski (Alaska), David Perdue (Ga.), Gary Peters (Mich.), Rob Portman (Ohio), Pat Roberts (Kan.), Jacky Rosen (Nev.), Mike Rounds (S.D.), Marco Rubio (Fla.), Jeanne Shaheen (N.H.), Kyrsten Sinema (Ariz.), Tina Smith (Minn.), Debbie Stabenow (Mich.), Jon Tester (Mont.), and Thom Tillis (N.C.).


U.S. Representative Bill Pascrell (N.J.) introduced companion legislation in the House.

Related Issues