Skip to content

Collins, Colleagues Introduce Bill to Expand Families’ Child Care Options, Build on Existing, Bipartisan Program

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senator Susan Collins (R-ME) joined a group of her colleagues in introducing the Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Reauthorization Act of 2022, legislation to build on Congress’ 30-year record of bipartisan work to support and enhance child care programs across the nation. This legislation would improve the affordability of child care programs and protect the ability of parents to choose the provider that best fits their family’s needs.


“The ongoing public health and economic crisis has underscored the fact that parents and employers alike need more quality, affordable child care options,” said Senator Collins. “Our legislation would expand eligibility for the CCDBG program, enabling parents to obtain reliable care for their children while they work or go to school to improve their own skills and education.”


The CCDBG Reauthorization Act of 2022 makes responsible enhancements to the historically bipartisan CCDBG program, which has assisted working families with their child care and preschool needs for the last 30 years. Specifically, the reauthorization:


  • Increases family eligibility for CCDBG;
  • Ensures an eligible family making less than 75 percent State Median Income (SMI) pays no child care co-pay and that no eligible family has a co-pay greater than 7 percent of family income;
  • Improves reimbursement rates for child care providers so they can recruit and retain qualified staff;
  • Supports the education and professional development of child care staff;
  • Expands the supply and capacity of child care providers so working parents have multiple quality child care options to best suit their family’s needs; and
  • Removes unnecessary regulations that restrict home-based child care providers in rural areas.


In addition to Senator Collins, the bill was introduced by Senators Tim Scott (R-SC), Richard Burr (R-NC), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Ben Sasse (R-NE), Todd Young (R-IN), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), and Dan Sullivan (R-AK).


The bill text can be read here.