Skip to content

Collins, Brown Lead Bipartisan Resolution to Honor Our Nation’s Teachers

Washington, D.C. — To honor our nation's teachers and commemorate National Teacher Appreciation Week (May 4-8), U.S. Senators Susan Collins (R-ME) and Sherrod Brown (D-OH) led a bipartisan resolution to recognize the important work of teachers across the nation and thank them for their efforts to prepare students for success.  


“Despite school closures due to COVID-19, teachers in Maine and throughout the country have gone above and beyond to develop innovative ways to continue to support students and provide a high-quality education,” said Senator Collins.  “This resolution honors the indefatigable efforts of our teachers and expresses our gratitude for all that they do to prepare our children for success, particularly during this pandemic.”


“Teachers have always answered the call to serve, going above and beyond to ensure our students have a foundation of skills and tools that will last a lifetime,” said Senator Brown. “During this crisis, while coordinating distance learning, teachers and education staff have found unique ways to support and stay connected with their students. We must continue to honor our educators through policy that supports teachers in their efforts to develop the next generation of leaders.”


The resolution is co-authored by Senators Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Mike Braun (R-IN), Angus King (I-ME), JohnBoozman (R-AR), Corey Booker (D-NJ), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Todd Young (R-IN), Chris Murphy (D-CT), John Hoeven (R-ND), Doug Jones (D-AL), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Bob Casey (D-PA), James Lankford (R-OK), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Gary Peters (D-MI), Tom Carper (D-DE), Chris Coons (D-DE), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Kamala Harris (D-CA), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Tina Smith (D-MN), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Jackie Rosen (D-NV), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Jack Reed (D-RI), Joe Manchin (D-WV), and Patty Murray (D-WA).


Click HERE to read the resolution.

Related Issues