Skip to content

Collins, Bipartisan Group Introduce Resolution Condemning Iran for Persecution of Women and Peaceful Protestors

Bipartisan resolution calls on the government of Iran to end its violent crackdown against peaceful protestors following the death of 22-year-old Mahsa Amini

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senator Susan Collins and a bipartisan group of her colleagues introduced a resolution condemning the death of Mahsa Amini, a 22-year-old Iranian woman who was killed last week after being arrested by Iran’s morality police.  The resolution also calls on the government of Iran to end its systemic persecution of women and celebrates the bravery of the Iranian people protesting Amini’s death.


“The death of Mahsa Amini while in custody in Tehran has once again lifted the curtain on Iran’s abhorrent record of egregious human rights violations,” said Senator Collins.  “The outpouring of anger and grief over her tragic death has ignited a firestorm of protests against the Iranian regime in cities and towns across the country as well as internationally.  Our resolution condemns Iran’s human rights abuses and expresses support for the brave demonstrators who are keeping Mahsa’s memory alive by pushing for greater freedoms despite the violent crackdowns by Iran.”


In addition to Senator Collins, the resolution is cosponsored by Senators Chris Coons (D-Del.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), John Hickenlooper (D-Colo.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Bernie Sanders (D-Vt.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Bill Cassidy, M.D. (R-La.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), and Tom Cotton (R-Ark.).


For the full text of the Senate Resolution, click HERE.