Skip to content

Bipartisan Resolution To Honor Girl Scouts of America Passes Senate Unanimously

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senators Susan Collins (R-ME), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), and Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), co-chairs of the Girl Scouts’ Honorary Troop Capitol Hill, introduced a resolution recognizing the 109th birthday of the Girl Scouts of America and celebrating its legacy of building powerful female leaders. The Senate passed their resolution unanimously.


“As a former Girl Scout in my home town of Caribou, I have such fond memories of earning badges, and I remember how wonderful it was to learn new skills,” said Senator Collins.  “The character, volunteerism, and leadership skills that Girl Scouts build contribute greatly to our society. Girl Scouts taught me that determination, principles, and respect for others can take you everywhere you want to go—including to the halls of the United States Capitol.  This resolution celebrates 109 years of the Girl Scout organization as they continue to educate and empower young women in Maine and across the country.”


The bipartisan resolution also recognized the 2020 National Gold Award Girl Scouts recipients who hail from regions throughout the country.


The text of the resolution is available here.