Skip to content

Amid Rising Attacks on Jewish Americans, Collins, King Join Bipartisan Legislation to Counter Antisemitism

Legislation Would Establish First-Ever National Coordinator to Counter Antisemitism, Tasked with Overseeing Interagency Task Force

Washington, D.C.—U.S. Senators Susan Collins and Angus King have joined bipartisan legislation to counter the rising antisemitic attacks against Jewish Americans that are unfolding across the United States. This bipartisan Countering Antisemitism Act would take comprehensive action to strengthen efforts to combat antisemitism in America, including by establishing a first-ever National Coordinator to Counter Antisemitism who would oversee federal efforts to counter domestic antisemitism and lead an interagency task force to implement the U.S. National Strategy to Counter Antisemitism and future government strategies.

“Since Hamas’ horrific attack on Israel on October 7th, antisemitic incidents have increased by a reported 360 percent – and that’s not just on college campuses," said Senator Collins. "This bipartisan bill would establish a coordinated response throughout the federal government to help combat antisemitism, creating a safer environment across all public spaces. I urge my colleagues to join us as we stand with the Jewish community and work to ensure that antisemitism has no place in our society."

“Antisemitic attacks were already on the rise in the United States before Hamas terrorists launched an unprovoked attack on Israel on October 7th – but the sharp increase over the past seven months has shown us we must step up our efforts to protect Jewish Americans. Let me be crystal clear: antisemitism is defined as any prejudice or hostility against people solely because of their Jewish identity. We must not conflate disdain for certain policies with attacks against the Jewish people or the Jewish state as a whole,” said Senator King. “The bipartisan Countering Antisemitism Act would take immediate, comprehensive action to confront the reprehensible hate against Jewish Americans with the hiring of a national coordinator. The legislation would also require federal agencies to produce annual threat assessment reports. I am proud to join my colleagues from both parties in standing up for what is right, and protecting our Jewish neighbors, family, and friends.”

The bipartisan and bicameral Countering Antisemitism Act would:

  • Establish within the White House a National Coordinator to Counter Antisemitism to:
    • Serve as the President’s principal advisor on countering domestic antisemitism.
    • Coordinate Federal efforts to counter antisemitism.
    • Chair a new interagency task force to coordinate the implementation of U.S. government strategies to counter antisemitism. 
    • Conduct an annual analysis of the spread of antisemitism online and provide recommendations to Congress on how to counter it. 
    • Direct federal agencies to submit a report to Congress detailing their implementation of the U.S. National Strategy to Counter Antisemitism.
  • Require the Federal Bureau of Investigation, Department of Homeland Security, and National Counterterrorism Center to jointly produce an annual threat assessment of antisemitic violent extremism.
  • Require the Department of Education to designate a senior official to advise the Secretary on the Department’s efforts to counter antisemitic discrimination in higher education.
  • Require the FEMA Administrator to ensure the agency has sufficient resources and personnel needed to carry out the Nonprofit Security Grant Program.
  • Formally establishes the month of May as “Jewish American Heritage Month” in federal law.

The Countering Antisemitism Act, introduced by Senators James Lankford (R-OK) and Jacky Rosen (D-NV), is also cosponsored by Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Katie Britt (R-AL), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Laphonza Butler (D-CA), Jonie Ernst (R-IA), Rick Scott (R-FL), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), John Fetterman (D-PA), Mike Crapo (R-ID), and Mark Kelly (D-AZ).