104 Maine School Districts Prevented from Losing $1.2 Million Following Senator Collins’ Advocacy

Washington, D.C.—More than 100 Maine school districts were expected to lose a total of $1.2 million due to a misguided new policy at the Department of Education.  Senator Collins strongly opposed this change and led a successful, bipartisan effort to reverse it.


“I am pleased that, following the bipartisan effort I led, 104 rural, low-income school districts in Maine no longer face the threat of losing $1.2 million in crucial funding,” said Senator Collins.  “As the author of the legislation that created this program, I know how important this funding is to support essential activities and services, such as technology upgrades and expanded class offerings for reading, physical education, art, music, and distance learning.  I will be introducing legislation to ensure that rural school districts do not face this kind of uncertainty and anxiety in the future.”


In February, the Department of Education announced an abrupt rule change that would have cut funding for rural, low-income schools across the country. 


Senator Collins, who authored the 2002 law that created the Rural Education Achievement Program that provided this funding, immediately sent a letter to Secretary Betsy DeVos, urging her to reverse this decision.  She also led a letter that was signed by the rest of the Maine Delegation later that month. 


On March 4, 2020, Senator Collins and Maggie Hassan (D-NH) led a group of 22 Senators to Secretary DeVos expressing their strong opposition to the rule.  Following their letter, the Department of Education announced that it will halt cuts to rural low-income schools.


Without this change, the following 104 school districts would have lost a total of $1.2 million in federal funding:


  1. Airline CSD
  2. Andover Public Schools
  3. Athens Public Schools
  4. Beals Public Schools
  5. Brewer Public Schools
  6. Brooksville Public Schools
  7. Charlotte Public Schools
  8. Cutler Public Schools
  9. East Millinocket Public Schools
  10. Edgecomb Public Schools
  11. Ellsworth Public Schools
  12. Fayette Public Schools
  13. Greenbush Public Schools
  14. Greenville Public Schools
  15. Harmony Public Schools
  16. Kittery Public Schools
  17. Lisbon Public Schools
  18. Machiasport Public Schools
  19. Maine Virtual Academy
  20. Millinocket Public Schools
  21. Moosabec CSD
  22. MSAD 27 (Fort Kent, Allagash, Eagle Lake, Fort Kent, New Canada, Saint Francis, Saint John Plantation, Wallagrass, Winterville Plantation)
  23. MSAD 46 (Dexter, covers Exeter, Ripley, Garland)
  24. Penobscot Public Schools
  25. RSU 02 (Hallowell, Dresden, Farmingdale, Richmond)
  26. RSU 11/MSAD 11 (Gardiner, Pittston, Randolph, West Gardner)
  27. RSU 12 (Chelsea, Whitefield, Windsor, Palermo, Somerville, Alna)
  28. RSU 13 (Thomaston, South Thomaston, Rockland, Owl's Head, Cushing)
  29. RSU 15/MSAD 15 (Gray, New Gloucester)
  30. RSU 16 (Poland, Mechanic Falls, Minot)
  31. RSU 18 (China, Messalonskee)
  32. RSU 19 (Newport, Corinna, Hartland, St. Albans, Etna, Dixmont, Palmyra, Plymouth)
  33. RSU 23 (Old Orchard Beach)
  34. RSU 25 (Bucksport, Orland, Prospect, Verona)
  35. RSU 31/MSAD 31 (Burlington, Edinburg, Enfield, Howland, Maxfield, Passadumkeag)
  36. RSU 37/MSAD 37 (Addison, Cherryfield, Columbia, Columbia Falls, Harrington, Milbridge)
  37. RSU 38 (Manchester, Mount Vernon, Readfield, Wayne)
  38. RSU 39 (Caribou, Limestone, Stockholm)
  39. RSU 40/MSAD 40 (Friendship, Union, Waldoboro, Warren, Washington)
  40. RSU 44/MSAD 44 (Andover, Bethel, Greenwood, Newry, Woodstock)
  41. RSU 49/MSAD 49 (Albion, Benton, Clinton, Fairfield)
  42. RSU 50 (Cushing, St. George, Thomaston)
  43. RSU 52/MSAD 52 (Greene, Leeds, Turner)
  44. RSU 53/MSAD 53 (Burnham, Detroit, Pittsfield)
  45. RSU 54/MSAD 54 (Canaan, Cornville, Mercer, Norridgewock, Skowhegan, Smithfield)
  46. RSU 55/MSAD 55 (Baldwin, Cornish, Hiram, Parsonfield, Porter)
  47. RSU 58/MSAD 58 (Avon, Eustis, Kingfield, Phillips, Strong)
  48. RSU 59/MSAD 59 (Brighton Plantation, Madison, Starks)
  49. RSU 60/MSAD 60 (Lebanon, North Berwick, Berwick)
  50. RSU 61/MSAD 61 (Bridgton, Casco, Naples, Sebago)
  51. RSU 64/MSAD 64 (Bradford, Corinth, Hudson, Kenduskeag, Stetson)
  52. RSU 68/MSAD 68 (Charleston, Dover-Foxcroft, Monson, Sebec)
  53. RSU 71 (Belfast, Belmont, Morrill, Searsmont, Swanville)
  54. RSU 72/MSAD 72 (Brownfield, Denmark, Fryeburg, Lovell, Stoneham, Stow, Sweden)
  55. RSU 73 (Livermore, Livermore Falls, Fayette)
  56. RSU 74/MSAD 74 (Anson, Embden, New Portland, Solon)
  57. RSU 79/MSAD 01 (Castle Hill, Chapman, Mapleton, Presque Isle, Westfield)
  58. RSU 84/MSAD 14 (Carmel, Levant)
  59. RSU 87/MSAD 23 (Windham, Raymond)
  60. Sedgwick Public Schools
  61. Waterville Public Schools
  62. West Bath Public Schools
  63. Whiting Public Schools
  64. Winslow Schools
  65. Acton Public Schools
  66. Appleton Public Schools
  67. Blue Hill Public Schools
  68. Boothbay-Boothbay Hbr CSD
  69. Bristol Public Schools
  70. Brooklin Public Schools
  71. Castine Public Schools
  72. Deer Isle-Stonington CSD
  73. Eustis Public Schools
  74. Glenburn Public Schools
  75. Great Salt Bay CSD
  76. Hancock Public Schools
  77. Jefferson Public Schools
  78. Lamoine Public Schools
  79. Lincolnville Public Schools
  80. Madawaska Public Schools
  81. Milford Public Schools
  82. Nobleboro Public Schools
  83. Northport Public Schools
  84. Orrington Public Schools
  85. Otis Public Schools
  86. RSU 08/MSAD 08 (Vinalhaven)
  87. RSU 20 (Searsport, Stockton Springs)
  88. RSU 32/MSAD 32 (Ashland, Garfield Plantation, Masardis, Oxbow Plantation)
  89. RSU 33/MSAD 33 (Frenchville, St. Agatha)
  90. RSU 42/MSAD 42 (Mars Hill)
  91. RSU 45/MSAD 45 (Washburn)
  92. RSU 63/MSAD 63 (Eddington, Holdon, Holbrook)
  93. RSU 70/MSAD 70 (Hodgdon)
  94. RSU 78 (Rangely Lakes)
  95. RSU 82/MSAD 12 (Jackman)
  96. RSU 86/MSAD 20 (Fort Fairfield)
  97. South Bristol Public Schools
  98. Southwest Harbor Public Schools
  99. St George Public Schools
  100. Surry Public Schools
  101. Tremont Public Schools
  102. Trenton Public Schools
  103. Vassalboro Public Schools
  104. Wiscasset Public Schools