Senate Declares Friday, July 26, ‘United States Intelligence Professionals Day’

Senate unanimously approved bipartisan resolution cosponsored by Senators Collins and King

Washington, D.C. — The U.S. Senate has designated July 26, 2019, as “United States Intelligence Professionals Day,” following passage of a bipartisan resolution cosponsored by every member of the Senate Intelligence Committee, including U.S. Senators Susan Collins (R-ME) and Angus King (I-ME).  The resolution, adopted today by unanimous consent, celebrates the courage, fidelity, sacrifice, and professionalism of the hardworking men and women of our nation’s intelligence agencies, just ahead of the 72nd anniversary of the National Security Act of 1947 that laid the foundation for today’s intelligence community. 


“To ensure the safety of our country and our citizens, the hard working men and women serving in the intelligence community make countless sacrifices every day,” said Senator Collins.  “I am continuously impressed by the high level of professionalism, patriotism, and courage that our intelligence professionals exhibit.  Our resolution will ensure that these Americans, who must operate in the shadows, receive well-deserved recognition for their public service.”


“We live in an increasingly complex and dangerous world, and the contributions made by our intelligence professionals play a critical part in our national security,” said Senator King. “These men and women are our first line of defense, working diligently – and often in the shadows – to assess threats and gather information so policy makers can be fully informed as to the scope of the threats against the American people. Perhaps most importantly: these professionals are patriots, working not on behalf of an individual or a political party but for the safety of the American people. The dedication, skill, and patriotism demonstrated by intelligence professionals day in and day out provide peace of mind in complicated times.  For their efforts, they are owed our utmost respect and gratitude.”


In addition to Senators Collins and King, the resolution was sponsored by every member of the Senate Select Committee on Intelligence, led by Chairman Richard Burr and Vice Chairman Mark Warner, and including Senators Michael Bennet (D-CO), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Tom Cotton (R-AR), John Cornyn (R-TX), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Kamala Harris (D-CA), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), James Risch (R-ID), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Ben Sasse (R-NE), and Ron Wyden (D-OR).


Click HERE to read the text of the resolution.