

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

August 5, 2019

The Honorable James Inhofe Chairman Committee on Armed Services 228 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Adam Smith Chairman Committee on Armed Services 2216 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Jack Reed Ranking Member Committee on Armed Services 228 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Mac Thornberry Ranking Member Committee on Armed Services 2216 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairman Inhofe, Chairman Smith, Ranking Member Reed, and Ranking Member Thornberry:

We write to ask you to include House-passed provisions which repeal the Survivor Benefit Plan – Dependency and Indemnity Compensation (SBP-DIC) offset, the so-called "widow's tax," in the final National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2020 (NDAA) conference agreement. The widow's tax prevents more than 67,000 surviving spouses of servicemen and women who die of service related causes from receiving the full SBP annuities they deserve.

As a result of the widow's tax, tens of thousands of surviving spouses are prevented from collecting the full insurance benefits from the Department of Defense for which their military retiree spouses paid because those benefits are offset by the DIC payments they receive from the Department of Veterans Affairs. On average, this offset means that surviving spouses are denied more than \$11,000 per year in SBP benefits. In response to this unfairness, thousands of military widows have become grassroots advocates, working in many cases for more than 30 years to right this wrong for their own families and the entire military family community.

There has never before been more bipartisan support in Congress for repealing the SBP-DIC offset. Currently, there are 75 co-sponsors of legislation to repeal the widow's tax in the Senate and 371 co-sponsors in the House. Numerous military and veterans advocacy groups have joined us in this effort.

We have an obligation to make sure that we are taking care of our military families who have sacrificed so much. This problem goes back decades, but this year we can finally solve it once and for all. It is our time to do our duty not only to support the brave men and women of our military, but also to support their families.

Thank you for your consideration of this request.

Sincerely,

Dayson	Aman M. Collins
Doug Jones	Susan M. Collins
United States Senator	United States Senator  Wike Cryss  Wile Company
Jon Tester United States Senator  Taking Leeky	Mike Crapo United States Senator
Patrick Leahy United States Senator	James E. Risch United States Senator
Patty Murray United States Senator	John Cornyn United States Senator
Ron Wyden United States Senator	Roy Blunt United States Senator
Dick Duk	Jerry loran

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator

Jerry Moran United States Senator

Charles E. Schumer John Boozman United States Senator United States Senator Thomas R. Carper United States Senator United States Senator Marco Rubio United States Senator United States Senator Ted Cruz United States Senator United States Senator

Maria Cantwell

Robert Menendez United States Senator

Shelley Moore Capito United States Senator

Shelley Mone Capita

in J. Cardin

Benjamin L. Cardin United States Senator : 11 Cassider, M.D.

Bill Cassidy United States Senator

Bernard Sanders United States Senator	Cory Gardner United States Senator
Sherrod Brown United States Senator	Tom Cotton United States Senator
Robert P. Casey Jr. United States Senator	Steve Daines United States Senator
Amy Klobuchar United States Senator	M. Moles Low M. Michael Rounds United States Senator
Sheldon Whitehouse United States Senator	John Kennedy United States Senator
Tom Udall United States Senator	Marsha Blackburn United States Senator

Jeanne Shaheen United States Senator United States Senator R Werner I Lindsey O. Graham United States Senator United States Senator Kirsten E. Gillibrand Richard Burr United States Senator United States Senator Christopher A. Coons Rick Scott United States Senator United States Senator Brian Schatz Tammy Baldwin United States Senator United States Senator Kevin Cramer United States Senator United States Senator

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator	Edward J. Markey United States Senator
Cory A. Booker United States Senator	Gary C. Peters United States Senator
Chris Van Hollen United States Senator	Tammy Ducky orth United States Senator
Margaret Wood Hassan United States Senator	Kamala D. Harris United States Senator
Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator	Tina Smith United States Senator
Kyrsten Sinema United States Senator	Jacky Rosen United States Senator

Joe Manchin III
United States Senator

Michael F. Bennet
United States Senator

All Michael F. Bennet
United States Senator

All Michael F. Bennet
United States Senator

Lamar Alexander
United States Senator

Lisa Murkowski
United States Senator

Jeffrey A. Merkley
United States Senator